UK Coaching Summit part 1

I am currently in sunny Belfast for the UK coaching summit organised by Sports Coach UK.

Before arriving you select which presentations you would like to attend and I have got all of my first choices which I think is pretty good and not common to all conferences I have attended.

The day started with some semi-structured networking. Apparently feedback from last years UK coaching summit was that people would like more time to network. I am not sure doing this first think on the first morning was a great idea, having heard some presentations people might have had more to talk about. Having said that the way the networking was managed was very good and it ended up with everyone meeting at least 10 new people.

There were some keynote lectures about the current position of SCUK and UK sport but there was nothing really noteworthy in these.

My first presentation was by Alex Twitchen for coaching degrees. This was one of the main topics I came here to gain a better understanding of and there were question as answered here that have led me to feel more confident in the endorsement process. I still think it will be tough, but none-the-less achievable. I am attending a meeting with Alex in June about this process.

The second presentation was on blended learning by John Erskine from Staffordshire university. I attend this as three pathways I am involved in use blended learning. This was an interesting presentation and gave me some ideas on how we can develop our courses. I am not sure how many in the audience were convinced of the benefits of blended learning but I have no doubt it is the future of education let alone coach education.

A final keynote for the day was by Wendy Patterson who is the CEO of Pacific sport Vancouver. She spoke about the legacy of the 2010 Winter Olympics and the preparations for the games. Most importantly she focussed upon system alinement. Wendy gave a very good presentation on a subject I am passionate about (Talent Development Environments) but I am going to leave this blog for now and discuss Wendy’s presentation in a later blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Coach Education

Please add your comments.....

