New pen :)

I know this doesn’t sound exciting but it is actually quite impressive, well I think it is anyway 🙂

This is no normal pen, it is a livescribe pen. I am not bad at taking lecture notes but what I am bad at is storing them or filing them, I have paper everywhere! The other thing I am rubbish with is taking notes in meetings, I always get back to my office a forget what I was supposed to do.

A livescribe pen records everything, I know, this is not that impressive. What it also does though is turn all your notes into electronic format so now they can all be filed on your computer with the audio attached. My filing on my computer is much better than my folder filing, almost OCD like.

But it goes much further than this, I can search the notes for any word in them and it even recognises my terrible hand writing. Imagine being able to search all your undergrad notes instantly 🙂  Further still it links the audio to the writing so wherever you click the audio is linked, it doesn’t matter if it is writing or a diagram or whatever.

I have only used it a couple of times so far but so far I am happy with it. I think it could be great for dyslexic students.

There are some videos here, check it out 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under PhD

Please add your comments.....

